Bunthorne's Blog

Stewart McGowan's blog

Countdown 2015! The Improving Writing presentation

Jasper m beastI’m presenting tomorrow at the English Teachers’ Association’s Annual Conference. The presentation is an update of my work as a literacy consultant. For those who’ve seen it before, my presentation is based on a course I developed for an across KLA audience but I have adapted it several times for different KLA’s, student audiences, different contexts and different delivery timeframes.
Previously with English teachers I’ve used John Foulcher’s ‘Summer Rain’ as a related text but I’ve moved to The Mysterious Geographic Explorations of Jasper Morello, which is better suited to discovery.
The presentation’s meant to cover a number of bases. It’s meant to in the first case provide information and strategies for teachers who are less familiar with grammar and literacy within English. It’s also meant to give teachers in schools who have to work as part of literacy committees some information that will help them move their schools away from narrow, NAPLAN-based approaches to literacy. Finally it’s designed to continue the conversation. I’ve suggested a range of practical strategies designed to improve students’ writing and outlined a framework that structures the process. But I know that others will take this in their own directions; I encourage you to do so.
The PowerPoint for Friday’s presentation is here: Improving Writing ETA Nov 14 v4
The handout I prepared included my article from last year’s mETAphor, Issue 3. Members can download this from the ETA’s website.
I also included some sample paragraphs to start the conversation. These are here: jasper morello paragraphs v5
Elsewhere on the blog you’ll find previous versions of this course should you wish. Or you can just get in touch. I’ll see a large group of you at conference tomorrow, I’m sure.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Countdown 2015! The Improving Writing presentation

  1. Heidi Maltan on said:

    Good Morning Stewart. I attended your lecture yesterday and found it very informative and helpful, in particular since I work at a lower socio economic school with all the problems one could think of. We have a very engaged literacy team, receive National Partnership funding and try to pursuade other faculties to use the Super Six strategies … the works. Your lecture, in particular the sample Smart Data and the Jasper Morello (I have used this film before, in Ext. 1 Science Fiction – I want to use it this year for Engl. Adv. ORT) paragraphs will be so helpful to take back with me. Thank you and enjoy the second day of the conference.

Leave a Reply

